Mississippi Land Surveyor Requirements

Current State Requirements for a Land Surveyor in the State of Mississippi:

 

 12 PDH minimum per renewal period

Every registrant shall be required to obtain two (2) PDH units of Ethics training during three renewal periods. If a registrant exceeds two PDH units of Ethics training during the three year renewal period, two PDH units may be carried forward into the next three year renewal period. Every Professional Land Surveyor registrant shall be required to obtain two PDH units of Minimum Standards training during three renewal periods.

Dual Registrants: Those registered as a professional engineer and professional land surveyor are required to obtain 18 hours of continuing education. At least 1/3 of these required 18 hours must be obtained in each profession. A maximum of 18 PDH may be carried forward into the subsequent renewal period. The Mississippi State Board of Registration for Professional Engineers and Land Surveyors will not “pre-approve” courses. The registrant is responsible for reporting their activities to the Board and should be ready to defend those activities if audited and challenged.

 

Renewal Date:

Renewal occurs December 31 annually. Each registrant will be mailed a notice of the expiration date and the amount of the annual renewal fee. Such notice will be sent to the address of record at least one month prior to the expiration date.
 

Statute: Mississippi Code of 1972, Title 73, and Chapter 13 Rule 23.0

Stipulations

 

A registrant may bring a lapsed license to active status by obtaining all delinquent PDH units. However, if the total number required to become current exceeds 30, then 30 shall be the maximum number required.

Applicable Course of Study

 

The Board will not “pre-approve” courses. It is the registrant’s responsibility to obtain courses of which he/she has a reasonable expectation to be acceptable to the Board.

PDH units may be earned as follows:
(1) Successful completion of college courses.
(2) Successful completion of continuing education courses.
(3) Successful completion of correspondence, televised, videotaped, electronic and other short courses/tutorials.
(4) Presenting or attending qualifying seminars, in-house courses, workshops, or professional or technical presentations made at meetings, conventions, or conferences.
(5) Teaching or instructing in (1) through (4) above.
(6) Authoring published papers, articles, or books.
(7) Active participation in professional or technical societies.

Credit for active participation in professional and technical societies, limited to 1 PDH per organization with a maximum of 3 PDH, requires that a registrant serve as an officer and/or actively participate in a committee of the organization or be an active member of the organization.

PDH credits are not earned until the end of each year of service is completed.

The conversion of other units of credit to PDH units is as follows:
(1) 1 College or unit semester hour = 45 PDH
(2) 1 College or unit quarter hour = 30 PDH
(3) 1 Continuing education unit = 10 PDH
(4) 1 Hour of professional development in course work, seminars, or professional or technical presentations made at meetings, conventions, or conferences = 1 PDH
(5) For teaching apply multiple of 2 (Teaching credit is valid for teaching a course or seminar for the first time only. Teaching credit does not apply for full-time faculty.)
(6) Each published paper, article, or book = 10 PDH
(7) Active participation in professional and technical society = 1 PDH (1 PDH per organization with a maximum of 3 PDH.)

Proof of Compliance

 

All renewal applications will require a certification by the registrant that the CPC requirement for that year has been met. The registrant must certify and sign the continuing education form, and submit it with the renewal application and fee. The responsibility of maintaining records to be used to support credits claimed is the responsibility of the registrant.

Records required include, but are not limited to:
(1) a log showing the type of activity claimed, sponsoring organization, location, duration, instructor’s or speaker’s name, and PDH credits earned
(2) attendance verification records in the form of completion certificates or other documents supporting evidence of attendance.
(3) records as maintained by the NCEE’s CPC Tracking Program, NSPE’s Professional Development Registry for Engineers & Surveyors, or other similar repositories. These records must be maintained for 3 years; copies may be requested by the board for audit verification purposes.

 

Non-Compliance

 

The failure on the part of any registrant to renew his certificate annually in the month of December as required above, shall not deprive such person of the right of renewal, but the fee to be paid for the renewal of a certificate after the month of December shall be increased ten percent (10%) for each month, or fraction of a month that payment of renewal is delayed. The maximum fee for delayed renewal shall not exceed five (5) times the normal renewal fee.

Disallowed Credits

 

The Board of Registration has final authority with respect to approval of courses, credit, PDH value for courses, and other methods of earning credit.

Carryover Hours Allowed

 

12 PDH per renewal period

 

Exceptions

 

A registrant may be exempt from the professional development education requirements for one of the following reasons:
(1) New registrants by way of examination or comity shall be exempt for their first renewal period.
(2) A registrant serving on temporary active duty in the armed forces of the United States for a period of time exceeding one hundred twenty (120) consecutive days in a year shall be exempt from obtaining the professional development hours required during that year. Supporting documentation must be furnished to the Board.
(3) Registrants experiencing physical disability, illness, or other extenuating circumstances as reviewed and approved by the Board may be exempt. Supporting documentation must be furnished to the Board.
(4) A registrant 65 years of age and having 20 years of aggregate practice shall be exempt from the professional development educational requirement.

For More Info:

This information provided by the State Board Statutes and Rules.